Animal Racing Clubs in Northern Territory

Clubs Listed : 4

Displaying all Clubs & Associations :
  • Alice Springs Turf Club —- Visited: 26 Times

    Alice Springs

    Listing id: 42761

    Voted one of Australia’s most scenic and picturesque racecourses, at the foothills of the beautiful MacDonnell Ranges it boasts views that will leave you inspired.

  • Darwin Greyhound Racing Club —- Visited: 23 Times


    Listing id: 43091

    The club may be reached thru PO Box 39645, Winnellie, NT 0821.

  • Darwin Turf Club —- Visited: 20 Times


    Listing id: 42458

    The Darwin Turf Club was formed with a fanfare of trumpets in May 1955. The stage was all set then for the running of the first Darwin Cup on Saturday October 20 1956. Record post war stakemoney of $470 had been allocated by the Club for the six races. A field of four vied for the Cup worth $260 plus a trophy valued at $42. Because of the unfinished state of the track the Cup was run over 1200m. The first Darwin Cup winner at Fannie Bay was Satan’s Son, owned, trained and ridden by Peter McCracken. Satan’s Son, the only non thoroughbred to win the Darwin Cup, covered the 1200m in 126 seconds.

    Since the turn of the Century the Darwin Cup has become the biggest sporting event in the Northern Territory with over 20,000 people attending every year. As one of only a few dirt tracks in operation on the provincial circuit, the picturesque racecourse in Fannie Bay is the venue for which sees several illustrious racing names vie for over 1.85 million dollars in prize money and trophies over the month long event. The club may be reached thru PO Box 589, Darwin, NT 0801.

  • Racehorse Owners Association of the Northern Territory, Inc. —- Visited: 19 Times


    Listing id: 42759

    The Racehorse Owners Association Northern Territory (ROANT) represents racehorse owners in Northern Territory. ROANT is considered to be the official voice and represents its members in relation to industry matters.